Dr. Manish Garg

Winner 2022

To better understand (and possibly control) fast chemical reactions, it is necessary to study the behaviour of electrons as precisely as possible – in both space and time. However, up to now, microscopy methods have delivered only either spatially or temporally sharp images. By cleverly combining established techniques of tunnelling microscopy and laser spectroscopy, Manish Garg and his team have overcome these obstacles. Utilizing their quantum microscope its now possible to directly map the dynamics of electrons in molecules – how they jump from one orbital to another – for the first time, with simultaneous temporal resolution of 200 attoseconds and sub-Ångstrom spatial resolution. This basic technology provides completely new possibilities for directly observing quantum mechanical processes such as bond breaking/formation and charge transfer in individual molecules.

Former Award Winners


2020 Prof. Dr. Richard Wilhelm
2018 Dr. Fabio Donati
2016 Dr. Barbara A. J. Lechner
2014 Dr. Stefan Förster
2012 Dr. Guiseppe Mercurio
2010 Dr. Stephen Berkebile
2008 Dr. Markus Ternes
2006 Dr. John Lupton
2004 Dr. Mathias Kläui
2004 Dr. Stefan Cernusca
2002 Dr. Lucia Vitali
2000 Prof. Dr. Mathias Getzlaff
1998 Prof. Dr. Gero von Plessen
1998 Dr. Thomas Schlathölter
1996 Prof. Dr. Johannes D. Pedarnig
1994 Mag. Dr. Johannes Edlinger
1994 Dr. Helmut F. Berger
1992 Prof. Dr., Prof. E.h., Dr. h.c. Roland Wiesendanger
1990 Dr. Gerhard Lakits
1988 Prof. Dr. Wilfried L. Wurth
1986 Dr. Ludwig A. Laxhuber
1985 Dr. Erwin Gisler
1984 Prof. Dr. Max E. Lippitsch
1984 Dr. Gregor Strasser
1983 Prof. Dr. Hans-Werner Fink
1982 Dr. Peter Schrammen
1982 Prof. Dr. Adolf Winkler
1981 Dr. Rolf Clauberg
1980 Prof. Dr. Peter Varga
1980 Dr. Peter Christian Oelhafen